‘1 Man 365 Films 365 Days’ – A special post – 200 Films In…


Hi everyone. On day 238 with ‘No Country for Old Men’ I achieved another milestone in the challenge! by crossing off my 200th film! Well I actually hit 203 on this day!

So with only 124 days left to go before 31st December, I still have 162 movies to watch (126 IMDb and 35 Cinema) which is not a good days to movie ratio I’m looking at! In fact in all reality, the deadline for the challenge as changed (this is now where my face is filled with more dreaded fear) to 14th December because I’m flying away on my hols for the last two weeks of December – I’m not making this easy on myself am I!?

I just wanted say a big thank you to all my email subscribers and people who take the time to check out and read my Blog. It means a lot to me that you do and makes my quest even more worthwhile.

Special thanks to Scott from  http://www.frontroomcinema.com/ and Nostra from http://myfilmviews.wordpress.com/  who have been madly commenting away on my Blog the last few weeks, to which I’m very much appreciative of. So please do check out their Film Blogs too as there are a wealth of fantastic movie posts these guys write-up.

A few silly statistics on the 200 films (120 IMDb and 80 Cinema) = 387.683 hours = 23,261 minutes = 16.153 days. Also I like I did with the first 100 films all the way back on the 16th May. I have taken a moment to reflect on the 200 films and give you a rundown of my best and worst of the challenge….so far.

The Cinema Top 15 – they are in no particular order, apart from date viewed and are purely the films I would buy the DVD on to enjoy over again and again.

1. ‘127 Hours’ – 5th January
2. ‘The Kings Speech’ – 13th January
3. ‘Black Swan’ – 27th January
4. ‘The Fighter’ – 12th February
5. ‘True Grit’ – 16th February
6. ‘Senna’ – 24th June
7. ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2’ – 15th July
8. ‘Super 8’ – 10th August
9. ‘The Hangover Part II’ – 31st May
10. ‘Bridesmaids’ – 25th June
11. ‘Hanna’ – 11th May
12. ‘Beginners’ – 28th July
13. Despite all my grumblings on it ‘Battle: Los Angeles’ – 16th March
14. ‘Fair Game’ – 19th March
15. ‘Rango’ – 12th March

The Cinema Worst Top 10 where I hope I never ever have to encompass such total rubbish again!

1. ‘The Green Hornet’ – 21st January
2. ‘Your Highness’ – 13th April
3. ‘Red Riding Hood’- 18th April
4. ‘Something Borrowed’ – 17th May
5. ‘Last Night’ – 5th June
6. ‘Green Lantern’ – 22nd June
7. ‘Mothers Day’ – 27th June
8. ‘Zookeeper’ – 7th August
9. ‘Spy Kids All the Time in the World’ – 21st August
and the worst cinematic experience of the year goes to…
10. ‘Conan the Barbarian’ – 22nd August

I have tried to come up with a list of the best IMDb movies I have watched but as with a true film fan will tell you it is a near on impossibility of what goes into their definitive favourite film list!.

However I can give you a selection of my newly discovered favourites on the IMDb and of course the worst.

1. ‘Sleuth’ (1972) – 13th February
2. ‘Big Fish’ (2003) – 10th April
3. ‘Let The Right One In’ (2008) – 10th April
4. ‘Stalag 17’ (1953) – 17th April
5. ‘The Diving Bell and the Butterfly’ ( 2007) – 25th April
6. ‘Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?’ (1996) – 26th April
7. ‘In Bruges’ (2008) – 5th May
8. ‘The Secret in Their Eyes’ (2009) – 21st May
9. ‘The Best Years of Our Lives’ (1946) – 21st June
10. ‘The Lion King’ (1994) – 11th August

The Worst…

1. ‘In The Mood For Love’ (2000) – 7th January
2. ‘A Christmas Story’ (1983) – 15th January
3. ‘Persona’ (1966) – 10th April
4. ‘The Night of the Hunter’ (1955) – 13th May
5. ‘Wild Strawberries’ (1957) – 13th August

Apologies for the long post and just hope you haven’t fallen asleep reading it! Right I’m now off now to watch some more movies….wish me luck!

Steve

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘1 Man 365 Films 365 Days’ – A special post – 200 Films In…

  1. Paul Everett says:

    Bugger, I was just about to say that is only one a weekday and two each weekend-day, but your holiday scuppered that. Three each weekend-day?
    Good luck mate, you can do it.

  2. Cheers Paul and thank you for your support. From here in I’m setting myself of a minimum of 10 per week. Ideally I would like to be doing two on each weekday. Also the new skittles season starts again in a couple of weeks, so I’m losing a day there!

    March is the month that really cost me and I’ve never reigned that backlog in, But I’m giving it my all and won’t give up, come hell or high water!

  3. Nostra says:

    Thanks for mentioning my blog, much appreciated. Nice to hear you passed the 200 mark and hope you will be able to reach your goal, with the amount you are watching I think it is possible.

    You have a bit of a different taste in movies compared to what I like when I look at your lists 🙂
    Surprised to see The Hangover Part II in your top 10…it’s one of my biggest disappointments this year.
    What didn’t you like about Night of the Hunter? It’s not the most easy movie to watch, but some images are amazing to see (like when they are in the boat).

Seen this film? then please add your comments, they are always appreciated.

