‘1 Man 365 Films 365 Days’ – Day 234


#196 / 365 – ‘8½’ (1963) – 138 mins
IMDb Challenge #117 / 250 – Ranked #186 – Via Lovefilm

8 1/2 is about Guido Anselmi, an Italian director who has lost all inspiration for his upcoming movie, and it’s too late to back out. And aside from the fact that he can’t make the film, his mistress, wife, producer, and all the rest of his friends, are pressuring him about one thing or another. So he retreats into his dreams to shelter himself from the pressure, and there, he finds inspiration to make his new film, and face the world.

8½ is my third Federico Fellini piece I have encompassed on my IMDb Top 250 quest – the other two being ‘Nights of Cabiria’ (1957) and ‘La Strada’ (1954).

There are times (not overly) in 8½, in what is the Italian’s most personal autobiographical feature does border on self-indulgence side. But for the most part, it’s a beautifully shot in its surrealistic black and white imagery, with the opening dream sequence and the final dance on the beach being the most effective, and delightfully scored, to make the film a perceptive exploration into the art of film-making, albeit slightly overlong at 138 minutes.

If you’re looking to encompass any of Fellini’s work, then I recommend you begin with the unforgettable and more delightful La Strada, before 8½ which was the inspiration for the musical drama – ‘Nine’ (2009).


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ‘1 Man 365 Films 365 Days’ – Day 234

  1. Scott Lawlor says:

    Ooh look at you going all high brow!!

    Mixing it up with Conan and Fellini!1 LOL

    • Steve says:

      Yeah ‘High Brow!’ like it my friend – I needed something to restore my viewing confidence (despite never seeing this Fellini piece before now) after, and dare I say his name….Conan!

      No two days are ever the same on this insane quest!

  2. Nostra says:

    Ordered the DVD of 8 1/2 last year but still have not watched it. Also have La Strada somewhere and haven’t watched that either. As they are both on the IMDB top 250 I really have to watch them but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

    • Steve says:

      To be honest with you before starting out on the IMDb challenge I had never watched any of Fellini’s films, and this what so great about the challenge is that I’m now discovering so many great filmmakers.

      La Strada is an absolute must see and please make sure you watch that DVD soon! ha ha

      • Nostra says:

        So how many of the IMDB top 250 have you seen now…do you do them by number or ones you think are interesting? I’m keeping track of them using icheckmovies.com but as the list is regularly changing I’m stuck around 180 mark…have set my goal at 200 by the end of the year, so I guess I’ll have to watch some higher placed classics.

        It has helped me to watch movies I would normally never have done.

      • Steve says:

        I’ve now watched 119 of the IMDb and 80 / 115 on the cinema side. Things are going well on the challenge, albeit it a backlog of about 30 films! and I know I need to up my daily viewing count if I’m to succeed in completing all 365 by mid December, as I’m on holiday for the last two weeks of it!

        I printed the IMDb 250 list out as it was in January try and am watching all the films in ascending order but sometimes I have skip a few and come back to them – as I don’t always the titles to hand when I need them!

        I’ve heard of icheckmovies and it’s a great system and I think I might start using it should I choose to do something like this again! You should have no problem in completing your year end target of 200! How many movies do you watch on average per week/month?

        Many thanks for all your comments on my Blog they are very much appreciative and make the challenge even more worthwhile!

  3. Nostra says:

    That´s a pretty good number on the IMDB list. I just hope I will be able to watch all 250 without locking it to a specific date, but it will probably be a while before I´m close to 250…

    I hope I´ll be able to get it to 365 as well by the end of the year. I´m doing pretty good as I currently have seen 235 movies. I use this site whatiwatch.net for that as it allows you to see all your statistics. Think it´s entertaining to see. I was ahead but when my baby girl was born my movie watching took a serious hit (which I didn´t mind at all of course). On average though I watch about 30 movies a month. Last year I saw exactly 300 movies, but I´m almost sure I´ll top that this year.

    Commenting makes it worth indeed and as you are watching some very interesting movies, it is always fun to read.

Seen this film? then please add your comments, they are always appreciated.

