‘1 Man 365 Films 365 Days’ – Day 233


#195 / 365 – ‘Conan the Barbarian’ – 112 mins
Cinema Challenge #79 / 115

Cimmerian warrior Conan (Jason Momoa) is on a personal vendetta to avenge his father’s murder. It’s a quest that soon becomes an epic battle against deadly rivals, horrific monsters, and impossible odds. And the barbarian realises he is the only hope of saving the great nations of Hyboria from an encroaching reign of supernatural evil. With a legacy spanning 80 years, Robert E. Howard’s 1930s creation Conan the Barbarian is often cited as the earliest – and greatest – example of the ever-popular ‘sword and sorcery’ genre.

I’m going to keep this very short, but unfortunately not very sweet. Every film has to have a plot correct. Well in Conan the Barbarian it becomes completely invisible against the tacky backdrop and grimly unimaginative writing. There are a good couple of action scenes but the problem is amongst the midsection of the film that feels completely endless they all become too standardized and extremely repetitive with only the most thinnest strands of glue holding them together on its $90m budget.

To label Conan the Barbarian would be one of inept creativity in film-making and awful dumbness, with lots of profound grunting in the acting, where everything just results in it being a complete waste of time leaving an empty space with nothing to connect too. I’m just glad I didn’t watch it in 3D as you can be sure there would have been more flaws to pick up on.

Not only does Conan the Barbarian takes home the top prized honour of being my worst cinematic movie of the year, replacing previous holders ‘Your Highness’, ‘Zookeeper’ in fact this movie makes those two look like masterpieces, it easily falls into the category of one of my most awful movie experiences of all-time. To which I’m giving it a first on my film quest – no rating.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ‘1 Man 365 Films 365 Days’ – Day 233

  1. Scott Lawlor says:

    OUCHIES!! I thought I was harsh giving it half marks!!

    I enjoyed it slightly more than you though….but only slightly

    • Steve says:

      Yeah I may have been scathing on it but for me it was just a truely woeful and painfull watch! Other people I know have immensly enjoyed it!

  2. Nostra says:

    Wow, not really surprised. Saw the trailer of it last week and to be honest I couldn’t make much sense out of it. As i absolutely hated Your Highness and this is even worse I will make sure I will never watch this 🙂

Seen this film? then please add your comments, they are always appreciated.

