‘1 Man 365 Films 365 Days’ – Day 216


#167 / 365 – ‘Captain America : The First Avenger’ – 124 mins
Cinema Challenge #69 / 115

It’s 1942, and weedy Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) is rejected by the US Army as unfit for service. Determined to help fight the Nazis, Steve volunteers for a top secret project under Colonel Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones) where a serum developed by Dr Erskine (Stanley Tucci) transforms him into a super-soldier. Reborn as Captain America, Steve’s first test as a shield-slinging superhero is to thwart a Nazi plot involving the sinister HYDRA organisation, led by the evil Red Skull (Hugo Weaving).

So here we are at the last stop of the Marvel individual movies, before all their super heroes come colossally crashing together in The Avengers, next summer. Director Joe Johnston gives off some fantastic visual style by setting Captain America within a WWII ’40s lavish period piece, and he seems to be quite comfortable in this era as Captain America has a striking similarity to that of Johnston 1991 cult classic ‘The Rocketeer’.

Whilst Captain America isn’t the best Marvel film for me, that mantle still lies with ‘Iron Man‘, with ‘Thor’ running in second place, and this Avenger neatly slipping into third complete with several flaws, one being the very rushed ending that gives off to some very choppy action. Nonetheless it’s a solid film with a great origin story during its first-middle acts. On top it teasingly sets up that 2012 film which we can now all start to get insanely excited about, summer 2012 can’t come soon enough.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ‘1 Man 365 Films 365 Days’ – Day 216

  1. Jennie Foy says:

    Steve, you need to watch more films! Better planning, and less pfaffing. None of this I haven’t got time to watch a film, or I need an evening off, or a lie in, you have to live and breath films for the next 4 months and 26 days. Simples!

  2. Custard says:

    HAHA to the comment above!!

    Cap’n USA comes in level pegging with Iron Man 1 for me. But that is just a personal opinion!!

    You are doing well, although I wouldn’t want to be you on the final week with 50 films to watch!! HAHA

    • Cheers buddy and I’m having a holiday away in the middle of December for two weeks! Suddenly the challenge becomes a whole lot more of a near impossibility! Have a great weekend.

  3. I didn’t know about your blog when I named mine, honest!
    http://www.1man365movies.blogspot.com/
    You’re doing a lot better than I am. I would have to write at least 2 reviews a day to get to 365 by the end of the year. Of course my mission statement says I intend to review every one of the 365 movies I see in 2011, so if “in 2011” refers to the movie-watching and not the review-writing, I’ve got a loophole. (I used to work at a law firm. Got fired though…)

    • Hi Glen, no worries on the naming of the Blog’s and great minds think alike hey! I’ve checked out your Blog and you have some great reviews going on there. I agree with you it’s not watching the films that consumes so much of my time it’s Blogging the reviews that do that!

      Well I wish you supreme luck in completing your challenge!

Seen this film? then please add your comments, they are always appreciated.

